Pattern Blocks

Our Melissa and Doug order arrived this morning! I love Melissa and Doug but can’t very often afford to buy all the bits I want, so when they appeared on Secret Sales recently I got very excited!

We bought some bits to be saved for Christmas, however I have wanted the Pattern Blocks for such a long time that they were for instant use 🙂

I bought both the Pattern Blocks and the Beginner Pattern Blocks as I knew Ben wouldn’t want to be left out. To be honest, the Beginner set is possibly a little to basic for him, however the “older” set did leave him quite frustrated a few times as he is a perfectionist and doesn’t quite have the manual dexterity yet to get all the pieces exactly where they should be so I am glad I got both sets.

For the first 30 minutes or so of playing with the blocks all 3 kids stuck to using the boards.

 

(notice Jasmine & Thomas still in pj’s!)

 
But after a while Jasmine started designing her own pictures 🙂

 

“A Table with a Lamp on”

 

This is Jasmine at her best. She never sticks to doing as the box says! I read this Beatrix Potter quote recently and thought of her:

Thank goodness I was never sent to school; it would have rubbed off some of the originality.

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Pattern Blocks

  1. We love our pattern blocks too!

  2. Gabi says:

    I love these blocks – I saw them at college when I was training and I am determined to buy some now. Thanks for the reminder – and we agree Jasmine, lego etc is much more interesting when you make your own creations and leave the instructions in the box! Gx

Leave a Reply

