Pomanders and a Sweet Treat

A few days ago a friend posted a link on Facebook showing how to make an Orange Pomander. I’ve not done these since I was at school so really wanted to give it a go with the kids. It is a brilliant, simple festive activity and they look and smell wonderful too!

All you need is an orange, whole cloves and ribbon.

I also used some plastic pins to hold the ribbon in place and for younger children you will need something to make holes in the orange for them to place the cloves in to. Even at 5 Thomas and Jasmine were getting frustrated at times as they couldn’t always push the cloves through the orange peel. I used one of the plastic pins to make holes for them but you could use a knitting needle or a toothpick.

Place the ribbon around the orange, using pins (or paper fasteners) to hold the ribbon in place. Leave enough ribbon at the top to make a hanging loop. Then fill the orange with the cloves.

Orange Pomanders

This evening I have been experimenting with boiled sweets and, after 3 failed attempts, made these

Boiled Sweet Decorations

 

For the small shapes I cut the sweets up but for the larger one I just used whole sweets. Place the sweets in a cookie cutter on a lined baking sheet and place in the oven until they have melted. You have to remove them from the oven as soon as they go soft or the sweet leaks out from underneath (as I discovered!) Once I had removed them from the oven I placed a drinking straw into the large one to make the hole. I had to hold it in place for a minute or 2, until the sweet had hardened enough to hold it in place. Once it has cooled thoroughly, remove from the cookie cutter and thread with ribbon (if required)

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

