Felt Christmas Stockings

With my newly found ability and confidence with a needle and thread (more about that after Christmas!) I wanted to make Christmas Stockings with the kids this year. So I bought some felt and off we went..

I started off with this template, stuck it on thick card and cut it out. I used this to draw 6 Stockings onto felt, 2 each of 3 colours, and cut them out. Then I cut off the top section of the stocking template and drew round this 6 times on white felt. Once these were cut out I positioned them on top of the 6 stockings and, using a gluestick, stuck them in place.

I paired all the felt pieces up and sewed the stockings together using blanket stitch, obviously leaving the top open.

Felt StockingsThen I let the kids loose with glitter glue and shiny Christmassy things! Jasmine’s is the pink/purple one, Thomas chose Orange and Ben’s in blue/green.

Decorated StockingsWe have only decorated one side so far and we may or may not do the other side. Really it depends on how long it takes the glitter glue to dry (it was quite thickly splodged on in places!!). I also plan on sewing a ribbon loop to each one so we can hang them up.

Activity Village also have some smaller templates here and I think this size would look wonderful as a Tree decoration. My plan is for our Elf to make the kids a small stocking each just before he leaves and put a little “thank you” treat in it .. I hope he has time!

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

