Instant Chocolate Mug Cake

Love chocolate cake? Have a microwave and a few basic baking ingredients? Then this is for you! Plus, it contains no egg.. so there are no worries about not cooking it for long enough!

I have wanted to try the recipe out ever since I saw it on a Home Educating Group on Facebook a few months ago. Now all the chocolate has gone from Christmas I finally got round to it a few days ago. I can confirm it is delicious!

Recipe

3 tbsp plain flour
1.5 tbsp cocoa
3 tbsp sugar
1/8 tsp bicarb of soda
3 tbsp vegetable oil
3 tbsp milk
1/4 tsp vanilla essence or other flavour (I used orange flavouring as I didn’t have any vanilla in the cupboard!)
optional spoonful of choc chips/nutella etc

In a mug (or small bowl) mix the flour, cocoa, sugar and bicarb. Add the vegetable oil, milk and flavouring and mix well until creamy with no lumps. If adding choc chips, sprinkle them on top. If using nutella or similar push it under the mix until it is fully submerged.

Bake in the microwave. I cooked it for 2.5 minutes on full power (800W) but you’ll probably need to use trial and error to get the time right!

Eat and enjoy .. perfect for a cold winter’s evening 🙂

 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Instant Chocolate Mug Cake

  1. naomiheffer says:

    I’m gonna have to copy this recipe, I can see my kids really wanting to give this a go. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

