The gluestick is back .. and so is the computer

Today has been a day of 2 halves.

This morning we got the junk modelling out. I was back to 3 kids and a gluestick, cardboard boxes, sellotape, modelling foam, pipe cleaners, pompoms, stickers, cotton wool .. um, and probably more!

Thomas made a “structure” (his words) of trees, a house and grass and snow

Trees, a house, grass and snow

Ben did “cutting and sticking”

cutting and sticking

and Jasmine made several things including a snow picture, a egg box bubble catcher and 2 picture collages made with modelling foam

Sea, Sand and a Boat

Our finished models

Junk Modelling

This afternoon Jasmine asked to “do maths on the computer.” It is the first time in ages that one of them has wanted to do anything on the computer and I had given up asking them because I always got a straight “No” answer! She asked to do “purple maths, you know the one Mummy.” Actually, I didn’t have a clue! I put Education City on and she was happy with that!

I have to admit, I love the fact that they wanted to do some “learning” on the computer. I don’t do any formal work with them unless they ask and even though this is the choice I have made and I know it works for us all, I do sometimes start to feel guilty that I am not “teaching” them anything. It is a load of rubbish of course. They are still learning all the time through the world around them, the places we go, the books we read, the people we see, the toys they play with every day, but still I have these moments of guilt. So when she asked to go on the computer I could have jumped for joy!

She did some maths and science on Education City and did really well. My mind was put at ease to see she hadn’t forgotten everything she’d done previously. In fact, even without the computer “learning” for the last few months she had improved! She did some addition (with the help of the sorting bears), a coin recognition game, a game about today/tomorrow/yesterday, a floating/sinking game and a caterpillar/butterfly life-cycle game.

Maths on the computer

The sorting bears got everyone else’s attention (they all love the sorting bears), so once Jasmine had finished it was Thomas’ turn. I wasn’t surprised he had wanted to join in because I think it is him that started this “academic” phase in the 2 of them.. 4 days ago he decided he would read the bed time story to everyone! As with the computer, neither of them have shown an interest in reading for a few months, and then he picked up a book and read it! It took him a bit longer than it would have done a few months ago but he did it and he has wanted to read a book every day since! Today he did some maths, science and literacy on Education City, watched diligently by Ben.

Boys on the computer

And then it was Ben’s turn. Well, of course he wanted a turn. He has to do everything his brother and sister do! So first I got the animal counters out for him and we did some sorting and grouping. I discovered he could name red, blue, green and yellow! I know he can count to 10 but today he wasn’t interested in demonstrating this.. Oh well, I can’t have everything can I! Then I loaded a Numtums game on the CBeebies website and he loved that! His first ever game, just for him, on the computer!   The game involves lots of very short games all to do with the number you have chosen and there is lots of repetition. As I chose the “play with an adult” option all Ben had to do was press the spacebar, which was perfect for him. He loved it! We selected the number 3  and after a while I asked him what number we were looking for…….. wait for it…… “um, six mummy!” He does love the number 6. I think it is because it is Percy’s number (from Thomas the Tank Engine, Percy being his favourite engine!) Ah well, maybe I should get the corresponding Engine to show him next time and see if that helps!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The gluestick is back .. and so is the computer

  1. […] Thomas and Jasmine both did some Reading Eggs on the computer. As I mentioned recently, in this post,  they have started asking to do “learning” on the computer again and I have to admit […]

Leave a Reply

