A Plan for 2013 Revisited

On 4th January this year I wrote this post. I listed places I wanted to visit this year, things I wanted us to do.

Somehow, it is now 11th June and we are heading at full speed to the half way point of the year. I want to take a moment to revisit my list and see what we have done and what we still need to do. I want to decide which places I definitely still want to visit and which, if any, can be crossed off or bumped to a “maybe” list.

Here is my list, with the places we have visited marked off.

  • Natural History Museum
  • Science Museum
  • Sea Life Centre
  • London Zoo
  • Whipsnade Zoo
  • Dali Exhibition (Southbank)
  • London Cable Cars
  • Grant Museum of Zoology
  • Horniman Museum
  • Goodwood Revival or Festival of Speed
  • Covent Garden
  • RHS Garden Wisley
  • Royal Observatory Greenwich

We haven’t done terribly well have we!

Actually we have. I just seem to have ignored my original list! We have visited our “usual” places (Richmond Park, Morden Hall Park, Box Hill) very frequently, we have been to a couple of other National Trust properties (Claremont, Polesdon Lacey) and we have visited several other places including Chatsworth, Rare Breeds Centre, British Wildlife Centre, RAF Museum and Magna.

It seems I just need to stop ignoring my list and plan.

So, which of the original places can be “bumped” or removed? As much as I hate to do it, Goodwood will have to be removed. The Festival of Speed is being held on a weekend that Gordon is working a night shift and the Revival is on whilst we are on holiday, so we can’t attend either of these.

Other than that I don’t want to change the list at all. I still want to make an effort to visit all these places, but maybe I should amend it to have the “must visit” places at the top and the “if we have the time/money” places lower down.

Top of my list will still be the Natural History Museum. I really, really want to take the kids and I know they will absolutely love it. The kids also want to go to the Science Museum again. I need to pencil in dates on the calender to do these trips because these really are “must visit” places.

Next would be one of the zoo trips, either London or Whipsnade. This will be totally cost dependent though. Do they do a Home Educators discount?

Covent Garden and the Dali Exhibition can be done on a day trip into London any time. Again, I should just pencil a date on the calender shouldn’t I!

That leaves the Horniman Museum, London Cable Cars, Royal Observatory Greenwich and Grant Museum of Zoology, which I guess are the “if we have time/money” trips.

As with my post in January I am writing all this down in the hope that I will do something about it. In fact, tomorrow I am going to have a look at the calender and pencil in two or three dates for the “must visit” places.

I know we have done a lot so far this year and we have enjoyed all the places we have been to. However, I don’t want to look at this list again in another 5 months and realise that, despite going to lots of different places, we still haven’t managed most of it!Days Out 2014

 

 

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A Plan for 2013 Revisited

  1. Hannah says:

    I will go to the Natural History Museum with you. And any of the others, but let’s start with that!

Leave a Reply

