Fun Facts about Twins

Today marks the start of Twins, Triplets & More Awareness Week 2013.

To join in the celebrations I thought I’d share some fun and interesting facts about twins.

  • Of every 1,000 women who gave birth in 2011, 16.1 women had more than one baby. In 1976 that number was 9.6 woman out of every 1000.
  • Chances of having a twin pregnancy is increased by maternal age (30+).
  • Fraternal twining (non-identical) is genetically predisposed and the result of a woman releasing more than one egg at the same time.
  • Identical twins are the result of a random split of a single egg and cannot be genetically predisposed.
  • Male twins will not have twins unless their wives have the ability to produce two eggs.
  • Identical twins share the same DNA but do not have the same fingerprints.
  •  22 % percent of twins are left handed, compared to 10% in singletons.
  • Vanishing twin syndrome- 15-20% percent of all twin pregnancies will miscarry one foetus. Some estimates suggest 1 in 8 people started life as a twin while 1 in 70 actually are a twin.
  • Once you have fraternal twins, you are 3 to 4 times more likely to have another set!
  • Nigeria has the highest rate of multiple births and more identical twins.
  • China has the lowest rate for multiple births averaging 1 in 300.
  • Studies have shown that unborn twins interact in the womb at 14 weeks into pregnancy
  • Over 50% of twins are born before 37 weeks
  • The average birth weight for a twin is 5lbs, 5 oz.

TwinsBy the way, I was not quite 30 when I has mine. Twins do not run in my family. They were born at 38 weeks and weighed 5lbs 12ozs (Jasmine) and 5lbs 14ozs (Thomas). I then went on to have a singleton.

Happy Twins, Triplets & More Week to all my fabulous multiple mummy friends 🙂

 

 

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Fun Facts about Twins

  1. Shannon says:

    Great post! I am going to share that on my FB page. I have twins and I didn’t even know there was an awareness week!

  2. Shannon says:

    Oh ps. I was 32 when I had mine and I was induced at 38+4 (they don’t let you go past 39 here). 7.5lbs and 6lbs. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

